With the iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus only being a couple months old, this holiday season will see quite a few of you reselling your old phones for Apple’s new gadget. Here is a brief tutorial on How To Erase your old iPhone correctly before reselling it.

You have to make sure your data is wiped for obvious reasons. It’s incredulous how many people sell their old iPhones without removing their data completely off the device. Let’s go over some tips on how to make sure your personal data is not compromised by your old phone’s new owner.

Remember to Read Our Post on 6 Tips To Maximize Efficiency on The iPhone 6 & iPhone 6 Plus

How To Erase Your iPhone’s Data The Right Way

Backup The Data On Your iPhone – Who erases without backing up? You’d be surprised the amount of people who do. Please make sure you don’t fall into that category. Let’s start by backing up your smartphone to your computer via iTunes or to Apple’s iCloud server. Me? I’d do both just to cover my ass. 😉 Backup using iTunes –  Simply connect your phone to your computer and turn on iTunes. When you go to the “backup” section, make sure you transfer all your purchases to your computer first. Better safe than sorry. Backup using iCloud – If you are running iOS5 or higher, iCloud should be on and backing up your phone on a daily basis. Make sure it does one last backup before you hit “delete data.” (Side-Note: Do this on WiFi as it is faster)

erase iphoneTurn off Find My iPhone and Activation Lock

After iOS 7 dropped, it and all other future iOS’s came equipped with a feature called,  “Activation Lock.” This security conscious setting locks all of your iDevices with your Apple ID in case your iPhone, iPad, iPod, or soon to be iWatch gets stolen. The thief better know your login in order to erase and set your mobile device back to factory condition or turn off Find My iPhone. If they don’t they are out of luck… At least that’s what Apple declares. 🙂 Turn Off Activation Lock – Use your Apple ID to turn it off. You can even log into your iCloud and do it remotely via the web. Danger!!!! Important!!! DO NOT FORGET TO TURN OFF iMESSAGE! If you do not do this, there is a possibility that your iPhone may continue to get those sweet iMessages you are used to getting with it’s new owner.

icloud find my iphoneErasing the iPhone’s Settings and Data

Now that you’ve backed up your data, it’s time to delete that data on your phone and reset the settings to factory. NOTE: Make sure that your iPhone is fully charged before going through this. For some reason this saps the battery like no other.  If your iPhone is Jailbroken then I highly recommend you follow up all of this by hooking up your device to iTunes on your computer and hitting the “Restore” button. To cover your butt even more, before going through data erasure, sign out from every single online service like Dropbox, Pandora, Google, iTunes Store, Etc. This may be a good time to just bite the bullet and change your passwords. You just never know. Call me paranoid, but I am “PhoneDoc FL.” To be on the safe side, before erasing your data, you can sign out and unlink your device from online services like Google, Dropbox, Pandora etc.

how to reset erase iphone screens 01Yes Indeed. We Provide Same Day Service for the iPhone 6 Repair & iPhone 6 Plus Repair

Last Step Before Selling Your iPhone

This should be obvious but I see it all the time… REMOVE YOUR SIM CARD IF YOUR PHONE IS ON A GSM NETWORK! Any questions please feel free to leave them below.  We give LifeTime Warranty for our repairs at Dr Phone Fix & Repair Plantation. If you need iphone repair visit our store today